Sponsored by CIL

Dr. Alexander Pines, College of Chemistry, UC Berkeley

Professor Alexander Pines is awarded the 2017 ISMAR prize for his many landmark contributions to magnetic resonance, in particular to solid-state NMR, including time-reversal of dipole-dipole couplings, cross polarization of dilute spins in solids, multiple-quantum spectroscopy, double rotation and dynamic angle spinning of quadrupolar nuclei, the geometric (Berry) phase, ex situ and remote detection, ultralow and zero-field NMR and MRI, optical hyperpolarization and detection, functionalized hyperpolarized Xe as a biosensor, and his leadership as an inspiring teacher and mentor in the field.

Title of the presentation: Half a Century of Ups and Downs

Paul Callaghan Lecture

Sponsored by Magritek

Dr. Jeffrey A. Reimer, College of Chemistry, UC Berkeley

Professor Jeffrey A. Reimer received his bachelor’s degree (with honors) from the University of California at Santa Barbara, and his doctorate from the California Institute of Technology. Prior to his faculty appointment at UC Berkeley he was a postdoctoral fellow at IBM Research in Yorktown Heights, New York. He is presently the C. Judson King Endowed Professor and the Warren and Katharine Schlinger Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Department. Professor Reimer has won several teaching awards, including the UC Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award, the highest award bestowed on faculty for their teaching. Professor Reimer’s scholarship is in the fields of materials chemistry and engineering, with particular attention to the application of sophisticated NMR spectroscopic and physical measurements. He is recognized for these works by election as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a Fellow of the American Physical Society in the Division of Materials Physics, and a Fellow of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance. In 2015 Professor Reimer was the recipient of a Research Fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

Title of the presentation: NMR and a Blunt Instrument in Materials Chemistry and Physics

Anatole Abragram Prize

To be announced